Home>Labour's Bright Futures Taskforce Announced
Labour's Bright Futures Taskforce Announced

Labour's Bright Futures Taskforce Announced


Labour has announced the launch of the Bright Future Taskforce which will develop a national strategy to ensure all children benefit from a recovery programme following everyone’s return to school  after the pandemic’s lockdown and are supported to reach their full potential. The taskforce recognises that recovering from the pandemic is about more than just educational outcomes and will focus on children’s happiness and wellbeing as a key priority. It will examine a child’s whole experience of the education system, from early years through to becoming adults and aims to put the voices of children and young people at the heart of its work, alongside engaging with parents, teachers and school and college leaders. Shadow Education Secretary, Kate Green will be holding discussion events with the taskforce across the country in the coming months.

The taskforce members are:

  • Baroness Morris of Yardley

Former teacher and Secretary of State for Education and Skills, Chair of the Birmingham Education Partnership and joint Chair of the Association of Education Partnerships.

  • Evelyn Forde MBE

Headteacher of Copthall School, a highly regarded girls’ 11-18 academy with a comprehensive and culturally diverse intake in North West London. She was awarded an MBE in the New Years Honours list on 31 December 2020.

  • Andy Westwood

Professor of Government Practice and Vice Dean in the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Manchester. He has been a special adviser to ministers on education, skills and science policy at the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills, and a senior adviser at HM Treasury and in the Departments for Education and Communities and Local Government.

  • Mick Waters

Former teacher and head teacher before working at senior levels in Birmingham and Manchester Local Authorities. He worked at a national level with the Qualifications and Curriculum Authority where he was Director of Curriculum.

  • Julian Grenier

Head teacher of Sheringham Nursery School and Children’s Centre in Newham, East London. Sheringham is one of England’s 27 Research Schools, working with the Education Endowment Foundation to develop evidence-based practice and bring research closer to schools and early years settings.

  • Steve Munby

Former CEO of the National College for School Leadership and of Education Development Trust. He is Visiting Professor at University College London, Centre for Educational Leadership and is Chair of the Teaching Awards Trust.

  • Francine Bates OBE

Children’s charity sector leader with a strong focus on disability, Special Educational Needs, looked after children and child health. She was Special Adviser to Ed Balls at the Department for Education between 2007-2010.

  • Jonathan Pryor

Councillor on Leeds City Council since 2014, and is now the Cabinet Member for Learning, Skills, Employment and Equality.

  • Hillary Gyebi-Ababio

NUS Vice President for Higher Education. She was previously the Undergraduate Education Officer and Chair of the Widening Participation Network at the University of Bristol Students’ Union.

  • Professor Dame Alison Peacock

Chief Executive of the Chartered College of Teaching. She is an Honorary Fellow of Queens College Cambridge and a Visiting Professor of both the University of Hertfordshire and Glyndŵr University. Her research is published in a series of books about Learning without Limits offering an alternative approach to inclusive school improvement.

  • Kiran Mahil

Teacher and secondary school leader. She has worked for almost a decade in Tower Hamlets.

 Please find the full announcement here.